A survival USB drive is a stick or portable drive loaded with survival manuals as PDFs, sometimes with an offline Wikipedia, and in a few cases a local AI model. The prices we found on 28 October 2026 run from $34.99 for a drive of PDFs to $149.00 for a drive with an AI program, and $999 at retail for a 1 TB hard drive. You can also build the PDF part yourself for nothing, using US government manuals and Kiwix files whose licences let you copy them.
Below: what each of five products says it contains, a do-it-yourself build with only material you may legally copy, and what to check about the drive itself.
The short answer
A survival USB drive is a stick or portable drive with survival manuals as PDFs, and sometimes an offline Wikipedia or a local AI program. The five products we compared cost from $34.99 to $149.00, plus a 1 TB hard drive at $999 retail. You can build the PDF part yourself for nothing from US government manuals and Kiwix files.
What the products contain
Everything in this table is from the seller's own page, read on 28 October 2026. We did not buy or open any of them, so we cannot say how good the files are.
| Product | What the page says is on it | Size | Price | Computers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OffGrid AI ToolKit, Core Edition | A local AI program, over 2,000 ready-made prompts, space for your own files | 64GB drive | $149.00 | Windows, or Mac with M1 or newer; 16 GB of memory minimum |
| Appalachian Freedom Files | Hundreds of preparedness and self-reliance files, mostly PDFs | Not stated | $34.99 | Most Windows, Mac and Linux computers |
| Legacy Drive (The Grow Network) | Herbal medicine library, homesteading courses, PDFs and military manuals | 1 TB hard drive | Retail: $999 | Windows, Mac and Linux |
| 906 Survival Guides USB | 906 guides and manuals, scanned for duplicates and sorted into folders | Over 1.8 GB | $47.95 | Not stated |
| Kiwix Preppers OS | Wikipedia, Ready.gov guides, military medicine and first aid | 200GB image | CHF 25 | Raspberry Pi only |
The OffGrid AI ToolKit is the only one in the table that is software as much as files. Its page is clear about the limits: a powered computer is required and not included, Intel Macs are not supported, and the Mac build needs 16 GB of memory at minimum. It also offers free US shipping and a 30-day return policy.
The Appalachian Freedom Files is the cheapest and the plainest: PDFs you open without special software. The page does not say how big the drive is. It also says refunds are not available after delivery because the files can be copied, and that all contents are protected by copyright and are for personal use only. That second point matters later, because it means you cannot copy that drive for a friend.
The Legacy Drive is a different kind of product, a large archive of one publisher's courses and videos on a hard drive, made to order. The page says to allow 4-6 weeks for it. If you want the publisher's herbal and homestead material, it is the only one here that offers it.
The 906 Survival Guides drive states a size, which is useful, and says the files were scanned for duplicates. It does not say where the guides come from.
Kiwix's Preppers OS is the odd one out. It is not a USB drive of files but a Raspberry Pi system image, and it is the same content Kiwix sells inside its Hotspot device. It includes military medicine and first aid resources. You flash it to a card for a Raspberry Pi. A normal laptop cannot use it.
One more product, SURVIVODRIVE, lists 154 titles and collections, about 218 GB, and a small local AI that reads the books on the drive. Its page talks about pre-orders opening later, so it may not be on sale yet, and we left it out of the table.
None of the pages we read lists the source and licence of each file. For government manuals that is probably fine. For a bundle of 906 mixed PDFs, ask the seller before you share copies.
Building your own with free material
If all you want is a library of manuals and reference pages, the free route is not hard. What costs you is the time to collect, check and organise the files.
US government documents
US copyright law says copyright protection is not available for any work of the United States Government. The Army survival manual ATP 3-50.21 states it is approved for public release with unlimited distribution, and our check of the PDF found 23,772,309 bytes over 228 pages: about 24 MB. FEMA says most material on FEMA.gov is free of copyright and may be copied and distributed without permission. It adds a caution that some photos or graphics are licensed or restricted, so look for a credit. The details, agency by agency, are in our guide to the offline survival library.
Kiwix files
Kiwix offers its Reader app and its content as free downloads. Wikipedia comes in three sizes, and the topic collections are small. Sizes from Kiwix's download listings, read on 28 October 2026:
| File | Size |
|---|---|
| English Wikipedia with pictures (maxi) | 119G |
| English Wikipedia without pictures (nopic) | 49G |
| English Wikipedia, mini | 13G |
| Post-disaster collection | 615M |
| Food preparation collection | 93M |
| Medicine collection | 67M |
| Water collection | 20M |
G is gigabytes and M is megabytes. Wikipedia's text is co-licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License, so if you hand out copies, give credit and keep the same licence. For the small topic collections, Kiwix's catalogue lists the author as "Various" and gives no licence, so we cannot tell you what you may share. Use them on your own drive and ask before you pass them on.
A sensible small build
For most people the useful drive holds the Army manual, the water and first-aid pages from the agencies above, your local emergency plan and phone numbers, a Kiwix Reader installer for each computer you own, and the medicine and water collections. The files themselves come to well under a gigabyte. Add the 13G mini Wikipedia only if you want an encyclopedia.
What to check before you buy or build
On the drive format, Apple's guide says to use FAT for Windows volumes of 32 GB or less and ExFAT for those over 32 GB. Our own advice, not Apple's: format a drive that both Mac and Windows computers will read as ExFAT. Check which format the seller ships it in if you plan to add files.
On size against content, the largest Wikipedia file is 119G alone, so it needs a bigger drive than most sticks. A drive of PDFs needs far less.
Think about which computers can open it. PDFs open almost anywhere. Kiwix files need the Kiwix Reader, which Kiwix says is available for Windows, macOS, Linux, Android, iOS and as a Progressive Web App. Anything with an AI program is stricter, as the OffGrid page shows with its Apple chip and 16 GB minimums.
On power, every drive here needs a computer or phone that is charged, and the pages for the OffGrid and Appalachian products say so.
Then there is how long the drive lasts. SURVIVODRIVE's own spec sheet warns that flash memory fades when it sits unpowered, faster in heat. Plug your drive in now and then, store it somewhere cool, and keep a second copy on another device. Print the pages you cannot afford to lose.
Last, refunds and sources: ask what the return terms are, and ask for a list of where the files come from and under what licence.
Where Waystone fits
We're building Waystone, a program that pairs a local AI model with a library of official pages and is designed to show the source page with each answer. It is in development and not on sale. The first target is recent Mac laptops with Apple silicon and 16 GB of memory, and the planned price is $100, one-time. A drive of files and a program like Waystone do different jobs: the drive is a shelf of documents, and we want to build the thing that finds the right page for you.
Common questions
What is on a survival USB drive?
Mostly PDFs of survival and preparedness manuals. Some add an offline Wikipedia, and one product in our table includes a local AI program. None of the pages we read lists the source and licence of each file.
How much does a survival USB drive cost?
On 28 October 2026 the sellers we read charged from $34.99 for a drive of PDFs to $149.00 for a drive with an AI program. The Legacy Drive, a 1 TB hard drive, is $999 at retail. Building your own from free material costs nothing but time.
Can I make my own survival USB drive for free?
Yes. Use US government documents and Kiwix files whose licences let you copy them. The core files come to well under a gigabyte, and you can add the 13G mini Wikipedia if you want an encyclopedia. Our offline survival library guide covers what you may keep and share.
What format should a survival USB drive use?
Apple's guide says to use FAT for Windows volumes of 32 GB or less and ExFAT for those over 32 GB. Our own advice is to format a drive that both Mac and Windows computers will read as ExFAT.
How long does a survival USB drive last?
SURVIVODRIVE's spec sheet warns that flash memory fades when it sits unpowered, faster in heat. Plug your drive in now and then, store it somewhere cool, and keep a second copy on another device.